Wheat Quality Council Annual Meeting

Hard Red Spring Wheat Technical Committee Meeting Minutes

February 19, 2025

- 1. Committee Chair Joyana Baumann welcomed everyone, introduced the officers and went over the agenda. The 2024 meeting minutes were reviewed. Brian Walker made a motion to approve the minutes, Josh Reasoner seconded the motion. A vote was taken, all were in favor, and the motion carried.
- 2. Dave Green reviewed the budget.
- 3. Elections of officers
 - Bart Bender and Mory Rugg were nominated to join the technical committee board as members.
 - Kelly McMonagle made a motion, and Brian Walker seconded the motion to elect the following as officers for 2025:
 - Member Bart Bender
 - Member Mory Rugg
 - Secretary Jon Kleinjan
 - Vice chair Scott Baker
 - Chair Aly Sharpe
 - All voted in favor of electing the officers as proposed.
- 4. Joyana Baumann reviewed the 2024 field grow-outs.
- 5. Linda Dykes reviewed sample collection, milling and data summaries. Amy Stolt gave an update on challenges with getting the Miag Mill up and running in the new location at the Peltier Complex on the campus of NDSU.
- 6. Brian Walker and Joyana Baumann presented Jim Peterson's slides giving an update on US HRSW trends.
- 7. State commission comments including acreage, variety trends and state funded research efforts:
 - a. Minnesota Jim Anderson
 - b. Montana Max Cederburg
 - c. North Dakota notes from Jim Peterson
 - d. South Dakota no update
- 8. DON Study Summary Scott Baker
- 9. Other business none. Brian Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mory Rugg seconded the motion. A vote was taken, all were in favor, and the motion carried.